Ten Mile Farm House

There is an old abandoned house next to the freeway that I pass every day on my commute to work. I’ve been wanting to explore and photograph this house for some time and I finally had some free time this week to do it. I got some great photos and learned the hard way that the trusty Toyota Corolla was not built for mudding. More on that in a bit.

Image

You can see traffic passing by in the background. The close proximity to the freeway adds a lot of intrigue to this home’s back story.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

This is my favorite picture of the shoot. I like it so well that I just had to feature it again in the body of this post even though I used it for the title image. I love how the processing brings out the grunge and shadow perfectly represents the melancholy emptiness of an abandoned, eroding home.

If you look closely, you may be able to make out a small blue speck off in the distance in the middle left side of the window. That would be where I left my car and walked to the house from. More details to follow…but first, a couple of final house pictures.

Image

These two are actually from a second house on the same property. I imagine the first house being the residence of the farmer and his family and this second house being for the farm hands. I really have no idea. I would love to know history of this mysterious abandoned property passed by thousands upon thousands of motorists each day.

Image

Now for my Corolla story. It rained lightly all day long and the dirt road that led to the house was undeniably a mud road. I drove the first half without trouble, but got myself good and stuck about 100 yards from the house. I shimmied the car for a bit to no avail, decided to go ahead and get my pictures, and came back to give it a serious try. I gathered rocks and logs, doing my best to gain some traction, but it soon became evident that I was not getting out on my own. Luckily, a couple of my friends were available and willing to help me out. (Thanks guys!) A pickup truck, tow chain, and a lot of pushing finally released my poor 4-cylinder, front-wheel drive from its muddy trap. Without their help I might still be there at this moment.

Image

I’ll leave you with a couple bonus pictures I took while I waited for my rescuers.

Image

IMG_7028

Leave a Reply

